HomeSportsInter exclude Martins from 2020 Hall of Fame

Inter exclude Martins from 2020 Hall of Fame

Nigeria striker, Obafemi Martins, has missed out on the opportunity of being voted into Inter Milan’s Hall of Fame for 2020.

The Nigerian met two of the three criteria needed to be inducted into the club’s prestigious list of legends, but his status as an active player knocked him out of the selection process, despite last featuring in a competitive football game in 2018.

Martins played 136 games for the Nerazzurri, scoring 49 goals, 24 of them coming in the Serie A in 88 appearances.

The criteria needed to be eligible for the induction include making at least 60 competitive appearances for Inter, winning at least one trophy with the club and must have retired for at least three years.

The other condition for eligibility is that the player may have retired in less than three years but won the 2010 treble.

Martins won three trophies with inter including the 2005/16 Serie A title, 2004 and 2005 Coppa Italia and the 2005 Supercoppa Italiana.

Ex inter players who have been voted into the club’s Hall of Fame are Walter Zenga, Javier Zanetti, Lothar Matthäus and Ronaldo, who were all inducted in 2018, while Francesco Toldo, Giacinto Facchetti, Dejan Stankovic and Giuseppe Meazza, were inducted in 2019.

- Advertisement -

Must Read

Related News