HomePolitics10th Assembly: Akpabio, Abass recommendation not final – APC

10th Assembly: Akpabio, Abass recommendation not final – APC

The National Publicity Secretary of the All Progressives Congress, Felix Morka, has explained that the nominations of former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godwill Akpabio, and Abbas Tajudeen who are both being considered for the top offices at the National Assembly were “not set in stone.”

He said the recommendation by the party leadership to nominate Akpabio and Abass can still be changed as every party member is free to contest elective positions.

Morka also noted that the party’s decision to micro-zone the positions was to reduce contention, stressing that consultations are still ongoing despite the party nomination.

The APC Publicity Secretary who spoke on a Channels Television’s programme, ‘Politics Today’, pointed out that in making the selection, the party considered some very solid criteria aimed at ensuring that each region receives a fair share as principal officers of the National Assembly.

The PUNCH had reported that the APC, after hours of discussion on Monday, nominated Akpabio and Tajudeen, who are representing the Zaria Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives, as the proposed Senate President and Speaker of the House respectively.

It also announced the Senator representing Kano North Senatorial District, Barau Jibrin, and the current spokesman of the House of Representatives, Benjamin Kalu, as Deputy Senate President and Deputy Speaker of the House.

- Advertisement -

Must Read

Related News